Central Banks

AUD traders – plenty coming up from the RBA on Tuesday May 21

I posted on this last week here:

A reminder:

  • Minutes of the May 2019 Monetary Policy Meeting 
  • 11.30 am Sydney time
  • 0130GMT

To be closely followed by a speech from the big guy himself … Philip Lowe, Governor

  • Topic: The Economic Outlook and Monetary Policy
  • 12.15 pm Sydney time
  • 0215GMT

I wonder if the minutes will be a little stale given we’ve had the election out come now.

But Lowe’s speech will be worth tuning in for.

With the government returned their promised tax cuts should come on line from July 1, giving a bit of a stimulus so spending power. Some economic modelling equate the tax cuts with a 25bp point cut in the cash rate. While we can split hairs about this there should be no doubt its a positive. 

ForexLive

Articles You May Like

China feels out how Europe will respond if talks with Trump break down
ANZ on the RBNZ – see a rate cut in August
As the EURUSD moves above its 200 day MA, the EURJPY is also strong today.
BOE’s Carney: No-deal Brexit should be a choice taken under absolute clarity about what that means
Forexlive Americas FX news wrap: The EURUSD cracks above 200 day/200 week MA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *